© Felix Aaron

The­se are the AN­CHOR No­mi­nees 2023

Every year, our renowned ANCHOR jury mingles with the audience at the concerts of the six nominees, from whom the competition winner will be chosen on Saturday evening, 23 September, at the ANCHOR Award Show in St. Pauli Theatre. The ANCHOR Board, made up of international music experts, has now selected the six nominees who will play for the ANCHOR Award on Thursday and Friday at the Gruenspan and whose concerts you also shouldn't miss: 
Songwriter and poet Berq, who is currently the talk of the town with his EP "Rote Flaggen", the duo Daisy The Great, whose skillful blend of indie pop and college rock has already produced catchy singles like "Record Player" and "I Don't Wanna Fall", songwriter Hannes, who has mastered the fine art of reaching the hearts of his listeners directly with catchy songs reduced to the essentials like "Stockholmsvy", multi-instrumentalist Ichiko Aoba, whose detailed songs between pop culture and a soundtrack like to take on epic forms, which have already been immortalised in her home country Japan on nine cultically revered studio albums, songwriter Paris Paloma, whose pop-noir gems like "labour" skilfully and poetically negotiate femininity, romance, art and great emotions, and last but not least, waterbaby, whose contemporary bedroom R'n'B and alternative pop has led to the release of her debut EP "Foam" on the renowned label SubPop. 

It is already clear that the ANCHOR jury, consisting of songwriter, poet and director BANKS, producer, songwriter, singer, actress, activist and entrepreneur Tayla Parx, songwriter, singer and producer Katie Melua and producer legend Tony Visconti, will not have an easy decision ahead of them this year either.