VIA - VUT Indie Awards

The VIA - VUT Indie Awards returned for the fifth time to Reeperbahn Festival to complement the conference programme.

These awards for independent excellence are the independent music industry’s first and only critics’ awards and are given on the basis of quality and originality – regardless of commercial success. The main sponsor of the awards ceremony is the Ministry of Culture and Media of the Free and Hanseatic City of Hamburg.

This year's winners are:

Best Newcomer: Alice Merton
Best Label: Grönland Records
Best Act: Apparat
Best Album: Bilderbuch – "Mea Culpa"
Best Experiment: Holly Herndon & Jlin (feat. Spawn) – "Godmother" and Nik Nowak – "The Mantis" (Installation & Performance with Kode9, Infinite Livez and Moritz Stumm)
VIA Special Award: Matthias Hornschuh

Next to VIA - VUT Indie Awards the German Association of Independent Music Companies (VUT) also host the VUT Indie Days that enrich the Reeperbahn Festival programme with sessions, keynotes, workshops and VUT’s annual general meeting as well as the VUT Indie House.


{[{filter.countIds}]} results